From my very first teenage job scooping ice cream to my current job as an organizational leadership coaching program functional consultant, subject matter expert, and coach with naval shipyards, I’ve always been curious about what makes organizations, and their leaders, great. Whether it was as a clerk, administrator, manager, entrepreneur, coach, consultant, or trainer in private, non-profit, corporate, or government industries, I studied how people led, how they engaged with their customers, how they treated their employees, how they improved their processes, and how they handled their finances.

It is this passion, drive, and curiosity that led me to the field of leadership development. Starting in the field of personal growth as a coach and trainer, I eventually realized that organizations were living, breathing, built-in communities in which people could develop their leadership skills daily. In addition, I saw how developing those skills made organizations more profitable, more likely to achieve their goals, and more able to serve their communities. And, the icing on the cake was seeing how both people and their organizations could then use those skills to positively impact their families, friends, and environment.

As for the credentials, I started and ran my own businesses as a coach, trainer, and consultant as well as a music teacher, author, and publisher. I’ve worked with local small businesses and non-profits to larger organizations such as Xerox, Boeing, Office Depot, Staples, the City of Seattle, and Puget Sound Naval Shipyard. I have a Master’s Degree in Leadership and Organizational Development from the Leadership Institute of Seattle, a Lean Six Sigma Green Belt, and a PCC (Professional Certified Coach) credential from the International Coach Federation (ICF). Most importantly, in whatever job, organization, or community I was a part of, I always sought to learn from and integrate what I’ve learned in order to lead and teach from experience.

Outside of my professional life? I’m a native New Yorker who has lived in the Pacific Northwest for over 26 years, a classical guitarist who listens to a lot of heavy metal, and outdoor enthusiast with a special affinity for hiking and birding by ear, a bagel and pizza snob, a traveler who has been to every state except for two, a husband to a lovely personal chef, and a father to an aspiring rock guitarist and songwriter.